Snowy Hydro is excited to announce the winners of this year’s annual Science of the Snowy Scheme Competition, from a total of 128 entries!

This year’s competition was created to increase students’ engagement with Snowy Hydro STEM experts during National Science Week 2023.

Stage 2 and 3 (year 3-6) students in the Snowy Mountains and surrounding areas were given the opportunity to take part in the competition, which included a colouring-in and a written response task. The students were asked to answer the question: Who is someone that inspires you and why? 

The children were inspired and excited to use their creativity while also displaying insightfulness in their written pieces. Some students wrote about their parents or friends, others discussed their teachers, favourite singers, athletes and celebrities.

There were two judging categories to review entries across stage 2 and stage 3. This included an esteemed and diverse panel of four judges, as well as ‘Community Choice’ voting. 

The ‘Judges’ Choice’ panel included the Hon Kristy McBain MP, Member for Eden-Monaro, local artist Rowena Evans, David Eisenhauer from local radio Sounds of the Mountains and Snowy Hydro mechanical engineer Sara Roder. 

The competition entries were open to the public to vote for the ‘Community Choice’, where all student work was available for viewing and voting on the Snowy Hydro website. 

All judging has now concluded, with a winner and runner-up selected for stage 2 and 3, under each judging category. The winners will receive a VIP catered experience at the Snowy Hydro Discovery Centre and a STEM prize package valued at $150 and the runners-up will each collect a STEM prize pack, also valued at $150 each. 

Snowy Hydro are proud to announce the winners of the 2023 Science of the Snowy Scheme Competition:

Judges’ Choice – Winners 

Stage 2 – Ellie Reid | St Patrick’s Parish School Cooma

Stage 3 – Clara Stefanetto | St Patrick’s Parish School Cooma

Judges’ Choice – Runners-up

Stage 2 – Emilio Brazulaitis | St Patrick’s Parish School Cooma

Stage 3 – Cormac Girling | St Patrick’s Parish School Cooma

Community Choice – Winners

Stage 2 – Bella Chorvat | Cooma Public School

Stage 3 – Lola Tonissen | Delegate Public School

Community Choice – Runners-up

Stage 2 – Hamish Walker | Delegate Public School

Stage 3 – Harlan Ingram | Delegate Public School

The winning entries will be displayed on the Snowy Hydro website and showcased at the Snowy Hydro Discovery Centre in Cooma. 
Stay tuned for the 2024 Science of the Snowy Scheme Competition which will run in Term 2. For more activities, visit the Snowy Hydro Next Generation Education Academy on the Snowy Hydro website.